Project 2: 12 Speed Huffy LeGrand

I am not sure why I haven’t started to work on this earlier. It has been at my dad’s house slowly collecting dust in the dark, recesses of the garage for at least two years now. I know it isn’t the coolest bike ever, I mean… a Huffy? Really? But, I like it – even if it may weigh more than my Honda. The angles on this bike are just really cool. Not to mention the top tube is really two tubes with a gap in between where the brake cable for the rear wheel runs.

Quick bit of info: I don’t restore these bikes for myself. I restore them and then try to sell them in order to fund the next one. Mostly, I haven’t had one for myself because these last two (aka the first two) were not made for an average height guy like myself.

Before I can go on, I have to confess. When I took this picture I had already removed the gripping on the handlebars. It was that black tube like foam stuff that stains your hands whenever you ride and it was an affront to the world of cycling. So, it had to go.

Now, the plan of attack. I want to completely strip down the frame and repaint it. I think I will go with the same white and reuse the cable lines because they are still great and good looking. After that, I will have to thoroughly clean and adjust everything. I am going to replace the chain, saddle, brakes, cables, tires, bar tape, tubes and, rim tape. Hopefully that will be everything I need. Wish me luck!

Chiorda Safari folding bike

To start, I got this awesome folding bike off of craigslist for $50. Sure, it had it’s issues (broken handlebar, grinding bb, rust everywhere, bad chain, bad rim tape, terrible seat, and generally dirty), but I saw it and instantly loved it. I’ve put right about $100 into it total, which is fairly amazing considering how much work I did.

I actually started work last fall and then tried to sell it to no avail. When I went out to the garage to get out my road bike for the first time this season, I began to wonder if I could fix it any more. I soon realized that I could operate on the clicking bb and went to work straight away. I had never opened one up before, so it was an interesting learning experience cleaning it out and trying not to loose any of the tiny parts. But, i have succeeded and have my final product: a much less rusty (but still cool) antique bike with a good chain, a bb that is better than it has been in years, an awesome saddle, and handlebars that actually stay up.

While it was really fun to work on this bike, I am excited to start work on my next project: a 1970’s Huffy LeGrand 12 speed. Posts to follow with detailed pictures and description of work done on it. (unlike this one)